Congratulations to Our Graduates!


This year’s Law School graduation on May 22 was not only a celebratory send-off for the Class of 2017 but also an affirmation of the Stein Scholars Program. In a day filled with notable speeches, honorary degrees, presentations, and the diploma ceremony, the event included recognition of eight Stein Scholars, who were awarded 10 different awards, with one of those Steins receiving three awards!

While the number of Stein awardees and the range of the awards shouldn’t come as a surprise—their accomplishments in the service of others have been well documented for three years—the awards are a reminder of the dedication, commitment, and passion Stein Scholars bring to all aspects of their law school experience: classes, law school community, internships, clinics, externships, and service to vulnerable constituencies and communities, both domestically and abroad.

Following are the awards Stein Scholars received during the diploma ceremony:

The Mary Daly Prize in Legal Ethics – in honor of students who published the most significant writing related to lawyers’ professional responsibility
Joshua Liebman, for his note “Dishonest Ethical Advocacy?: False Defenses in Criminal Court,” which appeared in the Fordham Law Review.

The Donald Magnetti Award – in honor of outstanding public contributions beyond the Law School
Sahar Moazami

The Adele Monaco Memorial Award – presented to an evening student for demonstration of compassion, courage, determination, and commitment to public service
Jake K. Hays

The Ann Moynihan Award – presented to a member of the J.D. graduating class in recognition of his/her outstanding performance in the Law School’s clinical program
Joshua Liebman

The Monsignor James J. Murray Prize for Achievement in Public Service – in support of a commitment to a career in public service
Lorena Jiron

The National Association of Women Lawyers Outstanding Law Student Award – for academic achievement and contributions to the advancement of women in society and promotion of issues and concerns to women in the legal profession
Jorie Dugan

The Robert Aram Renzulli Prize in Criminal Law – in honor of a student who excelled and intends to engage in public service criminal law upon graduation
Claire Glass

The Burton Award for Legal Achievement – for distinguished legal writing
Joshua Liebman

The Joseph R. Crowley Memorial Award – for the law student who best emulates the qualities of the late Dean Crowley
Kathy Walter

The Eugene J. Keefe Award – for the law student who has made the most important contribution to the Fordham community
Herbie Rosen


Comments are closed.