The Louis J. Lefkowitz Award

The Louis J. Lefkowitz Award is given annually in honor of Louis J. Lefkowitz, who served with distinction as Attorney General of New York State for nearly twenty-two years and wrote the very first article published by the Fordham Urban Law Journal.   Each year, the Fordham Urban Law Journal Alumni Association (FULJAA) presents the Lefkowitz Award to a person who has made outstanding achievements in public service and substantial contributions to the law as it affects our urban communities.  Past recipients of the Lefkowitz Award have included Manhattan District Attorney Robert Morgenthau, the Honorable Leslie Crocker Snyder, New York City Police Commissioner Ray Kelly, Kenneth Feinberg, the Honorable Judith Kaye, former Brooklyn District Attorney Charles Hynes, former Chancellor of the New York City Department of Education Joel Klein, and former Chair of the Securities and Exchange Commission Mary Jo White.  The Lefkowitz Award is presented by FULJAA’s Board of Directors each year at the Journal’s Annual Alumni Award Dinner.