Fordham Law Graduates and Faculty Recognized for Outstanding Achievements


At the end of the academic year, Fordham Law School announced the recipients of awards that recognized the outstanding achievements of members of the Class of 2022, as well as the impact of faculty members and administrators who have committed themselves to improving the Law School community in transformative ways.

Select Awards for Faculty and Administrators

Dean Matthew Diller virtually bestowed the Dean’s Medal of Recognition upon Toni Jaeger-Fine, assistant dean of international and non-J.D. programs, who will be stepping down from her position at the end of the academic year. The award, the highest the Dean can confer upon a member of the Fordham Law community, recognized Jaeger-Fine’s singular efforts to build the Law School’s international reputation over her 16 years in the role.

Dean’s Medal of Recognition 2022 from Fordham Law School on Vimeo.

Student Bar Association (SBA) President Roosevelt B. Ettienne ’22 virtually presented the Teacher of the Year Award, selected based on student nominations, to Professor Maggie Wittlin.

Teacher of the Year 2022 from Fordham Law School on Vimeo.

SBA Vice President Pearse Walsh ’23 virtually presented the Adjunct Teacher of the Year Award to Meagan Crowley-Hsu ’07 for her demonstrated excellence inside and outside the classroom.

Adjunct Teacher of the Year 2022 from Fordham Law School on Vimeo.

Stein Scholar Nicholas Loh ’22 virtually conferred the Eugene J. Keefe Award to Aisha Baruni, director of public interest scholars and counseling and administrator of the Stein Scholars Program, in recognition of her important contributions to the Fordham Law community.

The Eugene J. Keefe Award 2022 from Fordham Law School on Vimeo.

Awards for Members of the Class of 2022

During the in-person diploma ceremony at the Rose Hill campus on May 23, the Law School announced the recipients of more than a dozen awards that recognized the graduates’ academic achievements, public service, and competition victories. The recipients included:

  • Dominic Conoshenti and Chehak Gogia for the Abraham Abramovsky Award, presented to a member of the graduating J.D. class in recognition of their outstanding performance in trial advocacy;
  • Vanessa Toro-Plaza and Abdulai Turay for the Dean’s Special Achievement Award, given to a student in the graduating J.D. class who has made a singular and distinctive contribution to the law school community; 
  • David Marx for the Donald Magneti Award, presented to a member of the graduating J.D. class in recognition of their outstanding public commitment and contribution to those beyond the Law School community;
  • Malcolm Sanborn-Hum for the Feingold Family Prize, recognizing a commitment to public service by graduating J.D. student, not only through their Fordham Law career, but a broader commitment beyond the Law School and their choice of employment following graduation;
  • Dianna Lam for the Adele Monaco Memorial Award, presented to a member of the graduating J.D. class in the evening division who has made a positive impact on the lives of evening division students through the demonstration of compassion, courage, determination, and commitment to public service;
  • Tatiana Hyman and Mary Hornak for the Walter B. Kennedy Award, presented to J.D. members of the Fordham Law Review in recognition of extraordinary service that exemplifies the commitment to legal excellence of Professor Walter D. Kennedy, who served as the Law Review’s moderator from 1935 to 1945;
  • Eric Szkarlat for the Keith C. Miller Memorial Award, presented to a member of the graduating J.D. class who has demonstrated unselfish dedication to the Fordham Moot Court program;
  • Annalisa Martini, Catherine Young, and Jack Barton for the Lawrence J. McKay Prize, awarded to the graduating J.D. students who represented the Law School in the National Moot Court Competition;
  • Annalisa Martini for the Kimberley Greer Singer Award, awarded to a member of the National Moot Court Competition Team who possesses outstanding oral advocacy and legal writing skills as well as a demonstrated interest in teaching or mentoring students;
  • Joanna Barrett for the Monsignor James J. Murray Prize For Achievement In Public Service, given to a graduating Fordham Law J.D. student who is committed to a career in public service; 
  • Eli Salamon-Abrams, Okeya Smith, and Caroline Vermillion for the Ann Moynihan Award, presented to members of the J.D. graduating class in recognition of their outstanding performances in the Law School’s clinical program;
  • Zoe Buzinkai for the National Association of Women Lawyers Award, which recognizes an outstanding J.D. law graduate who contributes to the advancement of women in society, promotes issues and concerns of women in the legal profession, exhibits motivation, tenacity, and enthusiasm, demonstrates academic achievements, and earns the respect of faculty, administrators and fellow students;
  • Grant Emrich for the Parchomovsky-Siegelman Student Graduation Prize, awarded to the graduating J.D. student who produced the best work of scholarship published in one of Fordham’s law journals;
  • Sarah Acree and Sarah Moya for the Robert Aram Renzulli Prize In Criminal Law, presented to graduating J.D. students who have excelled in the area of criminal law during their three years at Fordham Law School and who intend to engage in public service criminal law work upon graduating; and
  • Nikol Oydanich for the Jorene Frankl Robbie ’79 Memorial Legal Research Prize, presented to a graduating student who has demonstrated excellence in the advanced legal research program.

 Additional awards and Latin honors will be announced in June.

Fordham Law graduates prepare to celebrate their accomplishments ahead of the 115th diploma ceremony on May 23.


Comments are closed.